Hiking in Hungary’s Wine Country | Tokaj to Tarcal

Shot on Canon RP and Ricoh GRiii

Fox Foto Collective
4 min readMar 4, 2024

Check out our previous hike in Northern Hungary!

Last week I took a short but steep-ish (okay not that bad, I’m just out of shape lately) hike from the wine country capitol of Hungary (Tokaj) to a smaller town (Tarcal) across the “mountain” .

The day was cloudy, and I only beat the rain to the train station in Tarcal by about 10 minutes, but the experience was worth it.

Though, I would probably recommend this as a late Spring / mid Fall hike instead.

I will probably take Julia to see it soon, but we will go straight to Tarcal to hike to the “summit” and then hike right back town to Tarcal. For all things wine and Tokaj, Tokaj should be your destination, but for the hike and views it can be skipped and you can use Tarcal as your loop start/end.

I’ve put some screenshots below from my Gaia GPS app showing the basic route and some stats.

--

--

Fox Foto Collective

Mini-Docs, Camera Reviews, and Travel blog by Elijah & Julia.