Rangefinder Lens Review | Voigtlander 50mm F1.2 Nokton

A concise review, after 1 year (sample images provided)

Fox Foto Collective
4 min readApr 23, 2024
Lens on Leica M246 Monchrom

READ ME: While not technically a vintage lens, the Nokton is a fully manual lens and has vintage rendering (graduated focus fall-off, soft contrast, and mild bloom) and fits into our vintage aesthetic toolkit nicely.

Logic behind purchase:

I initially went into the store to buy Voigtlander’s 50mm APO lens as a pairing for my new-to-me Leica M246 Monochrom. Upon arriving it turns out the last copy was no longer in stock (contrary to the website listing). My second choice was going to be the Nokton, and they did have that, so I snagged it.

Impressions:

Build quality is fine. It somehow feels more premium than my Voigtlander 21mm F4 CS (which it should based on the price and specs), but over time the finish has warn away from the focus ring rather quick. I don’t mind it terribly because the warn/vintage look appeals to me, but the cheaper 21mm lens has had no wear or scuffing at all. Focusing is tight but not too tight. The aperture ring has nice clicks, but turns with very little force (often bumped out of place).

--

--

Fox Foto Collective

Mini-Docs, Camera Reviews, and Travel blog by Elijah & Julia.