Vintage Lens Review | Super Takumar 50mm F1.4

A concise review after use with mirrorless cameras (sample images provided)

Fox Foto Collective
4 min readApr 21, 2022

READ ME: Discover why I highly recommend these vintage lenses for your collection! This review series focuses not on technical specs, but on the lens’ unique character, quirks, and my personal experiences with each.

Impressions: This might be my favorite vintage lens, nay, my favorite lens. It’s rivaled closely by my Jupiter 21M 200mm F4 lens, but the 50mm focal length and close-ish focusing distance makes the Takumar 50mm much more versitle. The gold glow is addictive too.

Size/Weight: Quite small, the M42-Sony and M42-Canon adapters I’ve used as all almost as large as the lens itself. Even so, it’s smaller than a modern Canon “nifty fifty”. A little heavy for it’s small size though, but the weight makes it feel solid and “real”, unike some of the modern plastic lenses that feel like all they have is magic and air on their insides.

--

--

Fox Foto Collective

Mini-Docs, Camera Reviews, and Travel blog by Elijah & Julia.